The Covered bridge of Lovech
The Covered bridge is one of the main symbols of the town of Lovech and is unique for the Balkan Peninsula. It was built by the famous master builder Kolyo Ficheto. The construction works took place between 1874 and the winter of 1876. The main materials used were stone and wood. On the 10 meters wide and 84 meters long bridge there were more than 64 craft and trade shops. In August 1925 the bridge was destroyed by fire, but in the period 1927-1931, a reinforced concrete covered bridge was built in its place, later on again reconstructed in order to resemble the original bridge of the Great Master as closely as possible. The bridge is located above the Osum River and connects the new with the old part of the town – the architectural reserve "Varosha". Today the visitors can enjoy a beautiful view from the shops, cafes and bakeries located along the bridge.